Noffke Lumber - History Timeline

History

The Noffke Lumber Timeline

Early 1900

Henry A. Noffke Sr. starts building & lumber and millwork business in Appleton, WI.

 

1928

Fire destroys the main building and majority of inventory, which prompted a change to include coal and name change to Noffke Fuel, added yards in Oshkosh and Fond du Lac

 

1933

Closed the Appleton and Fond du Lac yards

History - Noffke Fuel
History - Noffke Fuel

press to zoom
History - Noffke Lumber
History - Noffke Lumber

press to zoom
History - Noffke Fuel
History - Noffke Fuel

press to zoom
1/2

1934

Purchased land in Oshkosh and moved from leased location, built new office and scale for coal delivery

 

1946

Henry Sr. decides to diversify to add building supplies as it was a comfortable addition having experience in building

 

1957

Henry Sr. retires and purchase agreement to Henry Jr. and James and name is changed to Noffke Lumber Inc. to better identify the business

 

1964

New office and showroom built, 1800 sq. ft., old office moved off site

 

1967

Henry Jr. purchases his brothers share of corporation

 

1972

Moved Henry Jr. home and built new office and showroom 7000 sq. ft.

 

1973

Expanded showroom to 13000 sq. ft.

 

1982

Purchase a Lieber Lumber yard, Steve Noffke moved to manage that yard

 

1986

Purchased Wisconsin Lumber in Menasha, Greg Noffke moved to manage that yard

 

1988

Henry Noffke Sr. retires and Greg returns to Oshkosh

 

1998

Purchase Sentry adjacent to the yard and remodel to become the current Oshkosh showroom and office 24,000 sq. ft.

 

2000

New roof and floor truss constructed on Oshkosh site

 

2005

New covered storage building added to the Oshkosh site